Institut de Physique Théorique
Direction de la Recherche Fondamentale  -  Saclay
UMR 3681 - INP
encart droite
Encart de droite, peut être utilisé à des fins diverses. Actuellement caché via les CSS.
Monday, October 24, 2016

Welcome to IPhT




14h00 Séminaire de physique statistique

Séminaire de physique statistique

Orme des Merisiers - Salle Claude Itzykson, Bât. 774 Orme des Merisiers

Christopher Moore

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016

14h15 Séminaire de matrices, cordes et géométries aléatoires

Séminaire de matrices, cordes et géométries aléatoires

Orme des Merisiers - Salle Claude Itzykson, Bât. 774 Orme des Merisiers

Sibasish Banerjee

The Institut de Physique Théorique (IPhT) is a laboratory of fundamental research, located in Saclay, about 20 km south-west of Paris.

The research performed at the IPhT aims at better understanding the laws which govern our universe and its organisation. It encompasses most of the great subjects of modern theoretical physics:

The IPhT comprises about fifty permanent physicists (2/3 CEA, 1/3 CNRS), about thirty PhD students and postdocs, assisted by a support staff of about ten people. The IPhT also hosts permanently many short term visitors.


ERC Starting Grant for Lenka Zdeborová   

img Lenka Zdeborová is laureate of the prestigious European Fellowship ERC Starting Grant.
The goal of ERC SMiLe (Statistical Mechanics of Learning) is to obtain better understanding of how to learn useful structure from data. We will study recent advances in machine learning, such as deep neural networks, from the point of view of statistical mechanics of disordered systems.

All our congratulations to her for fabulous research !

C. Pepin, 2016-10-20


Abragam prize of the National Academy of Sciences for Cristina Bena   

imgCristina Bena recieved the Abragam prize of the National Academy of Sciences for her research on low-dimensional systems such as carbon nanotubes and graphene. In particular she studied the Friedel oscillations in such systems, as well as how to extract the physics hidden therein. Also she investigated the formation of Majorana fermions in various low-dimensional structures.

Congratulations to her !

C. Pepin, 2016-10-20


Duncan Haldane, Nobel laureate in Physics in 2016, was a visitor at IPhT   


David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 for their works on topological effects in condensed matter physics.

Duncan Haldane is well-known in France. He spent four years at the Institute Laue-Langevin in Grenoble, from 1977 to 1981. During a visit to the IPhT in the early 1990s, he exposed some remarkable degeneracies of the spin chain which bears his name. This was the starting point of a collaboration with Denis Bernard, Michel Gaudin and Vincent Pasquier.

To know more, please see the attached file :

Haldane-en (pdf)

E. De-laborderie, 2016-10-13


Welcome to Monica Guica

Does order exist in glasses ?

Catherine Pépin is awarded an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council

Devil staircases in dimer models

Retour en haut